History: The Department of Sanskrit was established in 1937. Many scholars served the department as teachers and brought fame to it. Some of the notable teachers were Sri Patibandla Madhava Sarma, Jonnalagadda Surryanarayana Sastry, Satavadhani Perala Bharata Sarma and Remella Dikshitulu. Sri P.V. Ramana Murthy served the department for fourteen years. Sri R. S. Dikshitulu worked as the in charge Principal to the college also. At present Dr.  Ivaturi Srinivasa Rao, Reader is the in charge of the department.

Profile of the Staff:

Name of Lecturer: Dr. I. Srinivasa Rao

Qualification:        M.A. Ph.D

Designation:         Reader

Ph.D. Thesis:       Purusharthas in the works of Kalidasa, Andhra University, 1985

Seminars attended: 35

Papers presented  :  30

 Books published: Purusharthas in the Works of Kalidasa, Vohra Publishers, Allahabad, 1990

                            Positive and Pleasing Personality

                            Brihajjatakam Part 1, Nakshatraraksha, Srimatha etc.

Research Activity: Translation of Sarada Tilaka Tantram being serialized in the monthly magazine Mihira.

                             Preparation of  yearly Panchang calendar and software development.

Other activities:    Director, Institute of Sanskrit and Indological Studies

                            Hon. Associate Editor, Mihira

                          Member, BoS, Krishna University, Andhra Loyola College, Maris Stella College and   ITM, Mumbai

Profile of the students:

                               1. Student Strength (BA/BCom/BSc Total)  


Year I Year II Year
2016-17    131
2015-16  139  126
2014-15  134  138
2013-14  144  132
2012-13  151  123


 2. Student Pass Percentage (BA/BCom/BSc Total)

Year I Year II Year

 I Sem 82%

II Sem 88%

2014-15  77% 91%
2013-14  81% 96%
2012-13  88%  89%
2011-12  86%  88%